Advertisement:

Author Topic: The "New Topic" "No New Topic" Logo  (Read 2725 times)

Offline Revolation

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • International Forums
The "New Topic" "No New Topic" Logo
« on: December 15, 2007, 10:51:24 PM »
How do I change the Logo?

Can someone give me the Location to it? Like where it is in the Package? Like is it in the Index.php? Or Display? Someone help me out please?

Offline Lilac

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 125
  • Gender: Female
    • Elliquiy
Re: The "New Topic" "No New Topic" Logo
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2007, 11:34:26 PM »
It's easiest to just overwrite the actual graphics files themselves. They are mostly called in Boardindex.template.php unless you have child boards, however.
Elliquiy Adult Role playing is a mature roleplaying community with some 500,000 posts in over 100 boards.

I don't know everything.  Please ask questions in the support forums instead of PMing me!

Offline Revolation

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • International Forums
Re: The "New Topic" "No New Topic" Logo
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2007, 12:24:58 AM »
Umm... No no, its not there. Bad Luck today :S

Offline Lilac

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 125
  • Gender: Female
    • Elliquiy
Re: The "New Topic" "No New Topic" Logo
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2007, 12:28:54 AM »
They are, they're just hiding.

Why not just replace them? Much easier and you won't have to make changes each time the template does.
Elliquiy Adult Role playing is a mature roleplaying community with some 500,000 posts in over 100 boards.

I don't know everything.  Please ask questions in the support forums instead of PMing me!

Offline Revolation

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • International Forums
Re: The "New Topic" "No New Topic" Logo
« Reply #4 on: December 16, 2007, 12:36:12 AM »
Ok well I played around with it a bit, and this is what i have(Before Playing around):

Quote
         // If the board is new, show a strong indicator.
            if ($board['new'])
               echo '<img src="', $settings['images_url'], '/on.gif" alt="', $txt[333], '" title="', $txt[333], '" />';
            // This board doesn't have new posts, but its children do.
            elseif ($board['children_new'])
               echo '<img src="', $settings['images_url'], '/on2.gif" alt="', $txt[333], '" title="', $txt[333], '" />';
            // No new posts at all! The agony!!
            else
               echo '<img src="', $settings['images_url'], '/off.gif" alt="', $txt[334], '" title="', $txt[334], '" />';

And I kept messing around with the
Quote
['images_url']
And when i changed it, the logo for the No New posts changed and it said "No New Posts" Instead of the Logo being there... This is probably it, but I dont know which Text Tile I should use, Should I use the [IMG] Code? Or the Embed Code of the Logo I want?

Offline Lilac

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 125
  • Gender: Female
    • Elliquiy
Re: The "New Topic" "No New Topic" Logo
« Reply #5 on: December 16, 2007, 12:40:08 AM »
...no, I meant replace on.gif, on2.gif, and off.gif themselves. You don't need to edit the file to change them. Just overwrite them with your own versions.

If you want, you can make them your own like myon.gif, myon2.gif, and myoff.gif.  Don't change $settings['images_url'], obviously.
Elliquiy Adult Role playing is a mature roleplaying community with some 500,000 posts in over 100 boards.

I don't know everything.  Please ask questions in the support forums instead of PMing me!

Offline IchBin™

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 11,115
  • Gender: Male
  • I don't speak German.
Re: The "New Topic" "No New Topic" Logo
« Reply #6 on: December 16, 2007, 12:41:18 AM »
You should get the terminology straight on a few things first. First, a logo is an image that is usually at the top of a theme, and it usually is a short description and depicts what you're site is about. What you are referring to are just plain images, and not logo's. If you text is appearing and the image is not, its probably because you messed up the code for the path by changing the $settings['images_url'] code. You cannot use BBC code ([img]) in themes.

Lilac is right, you don't need to change the code for the images. Just make/edit your own images and replace the existing ones.
IchBin™        TinyPortal
Coding Guidelines