Advertisement:

Author Topic: SimplePortal  (Read 1395814 times)

Offline [SiNaN]

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,524
  • Young and Foolish
    • SimplePortal
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #20 on: March 12, 2008, 06:44:11 AM »
Italian Lanugage is added as a package. I would be glad if you check it.
Former SMF Core Developer | My Mods | SimplePortal

Offline maxdg

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #21 on: March 12, 2008, 09:52:59 AM »
Seems to be ok and working.

Since I have integrated SMF in Joomla I modified the last istruction from:

Code: [Select]
<file name="$languagedir/index.italian.php">
<operation>
<search position="end" />
<add><![CDATA[$txt['sp-forum'] = 'Forum';]]></add>
</operation>
</file>

to

Code: [Select]
<file name="$languagedir/index.italian.php">
<operation>
<search position="end" />
<add><![CDATA[$txt['sp-forum'] = 'Indice';]]></add>
</operation>
</file>

..because I just have a "Forum" link on the website menu to the "Home" page of the forum..

So I preferred to change "Forum" link in "Indice" (Index) for better understanding.

It's only a choice.. maybe I will modify that "Home" link in something like "SPortal" .... still not sure..

Offline [SiNaN]

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,524
  • Young and Foolish
    • SimplePortal
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #22 on: March 12, 2008, 10:13:12 AM »
Is the "Forum" correct for the Italian language?
Former SMF Core Developer | My Mods | SimplePortal

Offline maxdg

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #23 on: March 12, 2008, 11:56:51 AM »
Is the "Forum" correct for the Italian language?

More than others.. because it's a latin word: (pl. "fora" and not "forums")
Anyway, I have keep some words as the original english (like "post", "board" and so) because in internet we (as many) use the same words..

Overall.. I preferred the short word when possible and in the "online users" block there isn't  the word "online" in "online users", "online guests"... for a better layout..

;)
 
« Last Edit: March 12, 2008, 12:02:15 PM by maxdg »

Offline ivo2296

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 514
  • Gender: Male
  • SMF Bulgarian Translator
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #24 on: March 12, 2008, 02:36:17 PM »
I would like to give a try but my forum is in my domain root installed - Will that be a problem?

Offline maxdg

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #25 on: March 12, 2008, 02:52:09 PM »
I would like to give a try but my forum is in my domain root installed - Will that be a problem?

I think it's the best way you can use it.

My 2 cents

Offline ivo2296

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 514
  • Gender: Male
  • SMF Bulgarian Translator
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #26 on: March 12, 2008, 05:34:45 PM »
I would like to give a try but my forum is in my domain root installed - Will that be a problem?

I think it's the best way you can use it.

My 2 cents

hehe oki-doki :)

what about the uninstaller - is it work good? - my forum is 3 years old and i don't want to demolish everything. My opinion is talking now... :) 

Offline maxdg

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #27 on: March 12, 2008, 05:52:31 PM »
Best is ALWAYS backing up your site and database... and you go fearless... ;)

(I didn't uninstall it yet... )

Offline maxdg

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #28 on: March 12, 2008, 09:24:16 PM »
Just a little question to SiNaN:

How can I make the text flowing form right to left without blank space, in the Announce block?

Thanks

A pic to show what I mean:

Offline brianjw

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,154
  • Gender: Male
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #29 on: March 12, 2008, 10:16:22 PM »
I have to say it's very nice and very simple. I'd like to see the mod further coded and continued for custom blocks and even other ideas.

Offline [SiNaN]

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,524
  • Young and Foolish
    • SimplePortal
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #30 on: March 13, 2008, 11:04:50 AM »
what about the uninstaller - is it work good? - my forum is 3 years old and i don't want to demolish everything. My opinion is talking now... :) 

If you didn't get any error during the install, uninstalling should be just a piece of cake.

Just a little question to SiNaN:

How can I make the text flowing form right to left without blank space, in the Announce block?

You can use the html tag <marquee> in the texbox that you write the announcement.

I have to say it's very nice and very simple. I'd like to see the mod further coded and continued for custom blocks and even other ideas.

I hope too. This is just start. Thanks.
Former SMF Core Developer | My Mods | SimplePortal

Offline maxdg

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #31 on: March 13, 2008, 12:09:21 PM »
You can use the html tag <marquee> in the texbox that you write the announcement.

Sorry, I wasn't clear enough..

The only thing I want is to have the "NEWS" text area filled at 100%, where there's the posts preview..

Thanks!

Offline [SiNaN]

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,524
  • Young and Foolish
    • SimplePortal
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #32 on: March 13, 2008, 12:20:04 PM »
How can I make the text flowing form right to left without blank space, in the Announce block?

SPortal.template.php

Find:

Code: [Select]
<tr class="windowbg" align="center">
Replace:

Code: [Select]
<tr class="windowbg">
The only thing I want is to have the "NEWS" text area filled at 100%, where there's the posts preview..

It should be I think. But if not, can you try this:

SPortal.template.php

Find:
Code: [Select]
<div>
<a href="', $news['href'], '">', $news['icon'], '</a> <b>', $news['subject'], '</b>
<div class="smaller">', $news['time'], ' ', $txt[525], ' ', $news['poster']['link'], '</div>

<div class="post" style="padding: 2ex 0;">', $news['body'], '</div>

Replace:

Code: [Select]
<div width="100%">
<a href="', $news['href'], '">', $news['icon'], '</a> <b>', $news['subject'], '</b>
<div class="smaller">', $news['time'], ' ', $txt[525], ' ', $news['poster']['link'], '</div>

<div class="post" style="padding: 2ex 0;" width="100%">', $news['body'], '</div>
Former SMF Core Developer | My Mods | SimplePortal

Offline maxdg

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #33 on: March 13, 2008, 12:43:13 PM »
It should be I think. But if not, can you try this:

It doesn't..

I tried your code and still no success..

As you can see in the posted pic I use a different template than default.
Perhaps it may be a CSS problem?

I have a "style.css" file in my template folder but there isn't any "smaller" class.
Only a "post" class like this:

.post, .personalmessage
{
width: 100%;
overflow: auto;
line-height: 1.3em;
}

...and it's 100%.. :-/


Offline brianjw

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,154
  • Gender: Male
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #35 on: March 13, 2008, 08:37:22 PM »
Have you tried the Package Parser?

Offline [SiNaN]

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,524
  • Young and Foolish
    • SimplePortal
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #36 on: March 14, 2008, 02:38:59 AM »
maxdg, I tested in the default and in some other themes. There is not such an error. But another member reported such an error with a likely theme. I will check with the theme you use also.

i cant install this mod in my forum

i make a manual edit and didnt work

I guess you've made a mistake during the edit. Please check them again.

//Edit: Same theme, no error. :S http://bizmuhacirler.com/test/index.php
« Last Edit: March 14, 2008, 02:44:57 AM by [SiNaN] »
Former SMF Core Developer | My Mods | SimplePortal

Offline [SiNaN]

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 11,524
  • Young and Foolish
    • SimplePortal
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #37 on: March 14, 2008, 07:15:08 AM »
I've found the error. It appears only when avatars are disabled in the news.

SPortal.template.php

Find:

Code: [Select]
<td colspan="2">
<hr style="margin: 2ex 0;" width="100%" />

Replace:

Code: [Select]
<td', $modSettings['nshowavatar'] ? ' colspan="2"' : '', '>
<hr style="margin: 2ex 0;" width="100%" />
Former SMF Core Developer | My Mods | SimplePortal

Offline jusplay77

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 76
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #38 on: March 14, 2008, 08:09:55 PM »
First off, I must say this is a great portal!  I previously had gencportal installed but had too many errors.  This one is a great start and has potential as well.  Very well done.

--

For further development, it would be nice to choose which boxes go on which side (LEFT or RIGHT). 

-

Also, exclusion of certain boards from the "Top Boards" List would be nice.  (As I have Several Archives Forums where I move old topics... And I do not want any Archive Boards showing up in The Top Boards section).  So perhaps a block that says:

[Board ID's that you do not want counted in Top Boards]: [ 2,5,15,23 ]  (Separate by comma)

-

Lastly, Custom Boxes would be nice to add as well (Such as SMF Shop Recently Purchased Items, SMF Pets Leadersboard, SMF Arcade Latest High Scores, SMF Downloads Latest Download Additions, etc).. The possibilities are endless..

Offline maxdg

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: SimplePortal
« Reply #39 on: March 15, 2008, 12:47:29 PM »
Quote
I've found the error. It appears only when avatars are disabled in the news.

Great, good job!

I disabled avatars because they overlaying the text.. but only if measures aren't standard.
The working theme you link to me has little avatars..