News:

Join the Facebook Fan Page.

Main Menu

vBulletin 3.0.1 to SMF

Started by th3subtl3on3, March 16, 2008, 11:02:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

th3subtl3on3

Where to start. I have just been given web administration of our boards, since the last two users have just disappeared. I am new to everything and slowing learning how everything works. We no longer want to use vBulletin, and would like to switch over to SMF, but I am hesitant to do so because of my inexperience.

I have read through most of the documents for converting and installing, but would still like some help. My biggest fear is losing all current information in our database. I tried installing and converting earlier, but it did not work. I got a blank page. Do I remove the old folder that has the vBulletin information?

I hate posting threads where I need a walk through from someone to make sure I am doing everything correctly, but I'd rather do it right than having a problem I can't fix.

Many thanks,
Brian

JayBachatero

Follow me on Twitter

"HELP!!! I've fallen and I can't get up"
This moment has been brought to you by LifeAlert

th3subtl3on3

I have read that two or three times now. The part I don't understand is this:

QuoteFor best results, you should install SMF on the same database as the forum you're converting from. If this is not possible, you will need to make sure that the MySQL user account being used for SMF has access to the other forum's database. If you are not sure how to do this, please ask on the forum and someone should be able to assist you.

This is what's throwing me for a loop.

JayBachatero

Did you install SMF?  If not what is recommended is that you install it in the same database that vBulletin is installed.
Follow me on Twitter

babjusi