Advertisement:

Author Topic: SMF Cache?  (Read 22796 times)

Offline aldo

  • Sophist Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,356
  • Gender: Male
SMF Cache?
« on: March 18, 2008, 02:03:31 AM »
Sorry if this is a stupid question, but I was wondering if SMF has a cache itself? I thought it did as it has a cache folder, if it does, how do I turn it on, or what does it need to run?

Offline karlbenson

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 15,629
  • Gender: Male
    • Criminal Brief UK
Re: SMF Cache?
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2008, 07:00:20 AM »
Admin > Server Settings > Caching

If your forum doesn't have an accelerators installed, then smf will do file based caching.

Select 'Level 1', 'Level 2', 'Level 3' etc
to increase the amount of Caching to do.

(where Level 3 is the highest).

Offline SleePy

  • Site Team Lead
  • SMF Master
  • *
  • Posts: 30,341
  • Gender: Male
  • Thats his happy face.
    • jdarwood007 on GitHub
    • @jdarwood on Twitter
    • SleePy Code - My personal site
Re: SMF Cache?
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2008, 12:53:45 PM »
You won't see much improvement with caching on smaller forums. You Once your forum starts getting active and such, you will notice the improvement.
Jeremy D — Site Team / SMF Developer
Support the SMF Support team!
Profiles:
GitHub

Offline codenaught

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 14,653
  • Gender: Male
  • Formerly Known As akabugeyes
Re: SMF Cache?
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2008, 06:40:58 PM »
Keep in mind if you make changes to your files, such as language files and you notice that the changes don't seem to be going through, you can always try to clear the cache at:

Admin / Forum Maintenance / Empty the file cache.

Keep in mind it is generally not recommended to use level 2 or 3 for cache level.
Dev Consultant
Former SMF Doc Coordinator

Offline L.G.S

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,658
  • Gender: Male
  • RuthlessIntent.com !
    • GamesandGoals.com
Re: SMF Cache?
« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2008, 09:59:36 AM »
You won't see much improvement with caching on smaller forums. You Once your forum starts getting active and such, you will notice the improvement.

Active as in?

Would it have any effect on a 150k+ posts forum with over 800 members?
FREE and LIVE World Cup + Premier League football streams:

www.gamesandgoals.com


Offline metallica48423

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 19,842
  • Gender: Male
  • Professional Multislacker!
    • Zentendo
Re: SMF Cache?
« Reply #5 on: March 20, 2008, 04:28:22 PM »
most likely, depending on resource usage and server load
Justin O'Leary
Ex-Project Manager
Ex-Lead Support Specialist

Quote
Microsoft wants us to "Imagine life without walls"...
I say, "If there are no walls, who needs Windows?"

Useful Links:
Online Manual!
How to Help us Help you   
Search
Settings Repair Tool