News:

SMF 2.0.19 has been released! Please update. Read more.

Main Menu

Standard Global Permissions - use caution

Started by bcswebco.com, January 04, 2005, 05:23:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bcswebco.com

After having my board up for several weeks, thought all was smooth until I had a member mention that an entire post was missing.  In reviewing the incident found out that the topic starter had simply deleted the topic (along with all 25 posts made by other members).  He didn't like the way the discussion was heading apparently  ;)

Apparently the global standard permissions are set to allow this

If you want do avoid a similar incident, be sure to modify your user permissions (either globally or by board) so that members are set to 'Deny' (D) for Remove topics (Own topic: and Any topics:).  The global 'Disallow' (X), will still permit members to remove topics that they have started.

-Bill

"Saving Grace" for me on this one was that I had the Archive feature activated and the posts were simply moved back.


Owdy

#1
Quote from: bcswebco.com on January 04, 2005, 05:23:28 PM
If you want do avoid a similar incident, be sure to modify your user permissions (either globally or by board) so that members are set to 'Deny' (D) for Remove topics (Own topic: and Any topics:).  The global 'Disallow' (X), will still permit members to remove topics that they have started.

Wrong, disallow means disallow. If you disallow them remove theyr own topics, then they cant remove them. Unless 'Any topics' is 'allow' . Put both disallow and then they wont remove anything.
Former Lead Support Specialist

Tarvitsetko apua SMF foorumisi kanssa? Otan työtehtäviä vastaan, lue:http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=375918.0

bcswebco.com

QuoteWrong, disallow means disallow. If you disallow them remove theyr own topics, then they cant remove them

I understand what the setting is supposed to mean. 

I am running 1.0 Final and reset all members to standard permissions.  The global settings indicated 'Disallow' (X) for Remove Topics ... but logging on as the member that started the topic allowed for that member to remove the entire thread.

'Deny' (D)  was required to disable the Remove Topic feature as an option for the member who started the topic

Owdy

#3
Quote from: bcswebco.com on January 04, 2005, 05:40:12 PM
The global settings indicated 'Disallow' (X) for Remove Topics ...
Own topics or Any topics? If i recall right, default setting in Own topics is 'Allow' and ' Any topics' is 'Disallow.

Remember, setting some group to 'Deny', means its permanent. If user is some other group also and that group says 'Allow' that 'deny' ovewrites that permission. 'Disallow' wont do this.
Former Lead Support Specialist

Tarvitsetko apua SMF foorumisi kanssa? Otan työtehtäviä vastaan, lue:http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=375918.0

bcswebco.com

This was an issue regarding 'Own topics' ... and perhaps for most boards would work just fine. 

My "Tip" here is that if you have a topic thread with a number of posts/replies, allowing the topic starter to simply delete the entire thread can be a headache.   

Most people using/installing SMF may not be aware that the default settings allow this, only to find out after the topic/thread has been removed .... People tend to scream at seeing a busy/active thread just disappear (or they get an email that it was removed).

Owdy

#5
Yes, i undestand your tip. Its ok, but how you suggest to do that is wrong. You dont have to deny anything. Just disallow remove own topics (and Any topics of course). ;)
Former Lead Support Specialist

Tarvitsetko apua SMF foorumisi kanssa? Otan työtehtäviä vastaan, lue:http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=375918.0

[Unknown]

Deny means Global Moderators can't do it either.

Click on the profile of the member who can still do it but shouldn't, and go to "Show Permissions" on the left.

-[Unknown]

bcswebco.com

Looks like confusion on my end was with the "Ungrouped" group. 

Was editing permissions the groups based on post count ... overlooking the permissions for "Ungrouped"

My revised "tip" recommendation: select 'Disallow' (X) for both permissions relating to Remove Topics to avoid the possible removal of posts made by other members.  ;D

Thanks to all for bearing with me and assisting on this one!

-Bill

Advertisement: