News:

Bored?  Looking to kill some time?  Want to chat with other SMF users?  Join us in IRC chat or Discord

Main Menu

AjaxChat Integration (latest version 3.2.1)

Started by .HuNTeR., August 27, 2008, 12:59:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gul Ducat

Yup! That's exactly what I need, the FAQ's have it.

On a related subject, I feel the pain EclecticHoobajoo is expressing.  Unfortunately, emails don't convey the facial and body language that is usually present in a face to face conversation.

I think we can all agree that no mod is perfectly written, nor should we expect them to be.  However, EclecticHoobajoo's issues as well as mine and many others could be greatly reduced if the SMF Forum Management implemented some of my previously posted suggestions with regard to criteria needed prior to posting a mod.

At the very least, it is probably time for a select committee of Moderators and Tech Support Staff to wade through the mods download area and weed out the mods which are undocumented, buggy, duplicates, outdated, or do not meet the same quality standards that SMF Coders have on their own works like SMF.  Not trying to suck up but even in beta or RC1, SMF is a very stable and well documented masterpiece.

Again, just my 2 cents worth.

mrtrc266

#1201
Quote from: johncccccc on April 05, 2009, 07:26:46 PM
Thanks again for the mod, I have another problem, well the shoutbox is too high and the tab buttons go over it slightly, look at image

on install all tests passed except board index template, which I edited myself.

any ideas?

Looks like you just have to relocate your shoutbox code in your /yourforum/Themes/[your theme]/index.template.php file just try playing with the location of...
//shoutBox
if (!empty($modSettings['enableShoutBox'])){
if (allowedTo('shout_access')){
// We'll have to use the cookie to remember the shoutBox header...
if ($context['user']['is_guest'])
$options['sb_collapsed'] = !empty($_COOKIE['sb_collapsed']);

echo '
<script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript">
var sb_current_header = ', empty($options['sb_collapsed']) ? 'false' : 'true', ';

function ajax_shoutBox_collapse(mode)
{';

if ($context['user']['is_guest'])
echo '
document.cookie = "sb_collapsed=" + (mode ? 1 : 0);';
else
echo '
smf_setThemeOption("sb_collapsed", mode ? 1 : 0, null, "', $context['session_id'], '");';

echo '
document.getElementById("ajax_shoutbox_collapse").src = smf_images_url + (mode ? "/expand.gif" : "/collapse.gif");

document.getElementById("ShoutBox").style.display = mode ? "none" : "";

sb_current_header = mode;
}
</script>';

if (!empty($modSettings['anyPageShoutBox']) || isset($context['chat_isHome'])){
echo'
<div class="tborder" style="margin: 10px 0 10px 0;">
<div class="catbg" style="padding: 5px 15px 5px 10px;margin:0 auto;">
<a rel="nofollow" href="#" onclick="ajax_shoutBox_collapse(!sb_current_header)"><img id="ajax_shoutbox_collapse" src="', $settings['images_url'], empty($options['sb_collapsed']) ? '/collapse.gif' : '/expand.gif','" alt="*" style="margin-right: 5px;"  /></a>', $txt['shoutBox'], '
</div>
<div id="ShoutBox"', empty($options['sb_collapsed']) ? '' : ' style="display: none;"', '>
', getShoutBoxContent() ,'
</div>
</div>';
}
}
}


If you can't get it post a link to your theme please

mrtrc266

Quote from: ricorico on April 05, 2009, 08:47:32 PM
mrt - any suggestions on my question about a  input box and roll button  embedded in the chat page?

Re: your input box, sorry I'm not sure
Re: your button here would be where you would make the button, of course you would have to create the function that you desire

Re: your button you can open public_html/chat/lib/template/loggedIn.html and find one of the button codes EXAMPLE: <input type="button" value="[LANG]bbCodeLabelBold[/LANG]" title="[LANG]bbCodeTitleBold[/LANG]" onclick="ajaxChat.insertBBCode('b');" style="font-weight:bold;"/>

I would have no idea how to make the function that you are requesting but I hope this might get you started. Once again I'm sure that the "open discussion" board @ sourceforge will be able to help you on this.  I remember seeing a post about a very complex dice roll code over there.

mrtrc266

#1203
Quote from: bigloutx on April 06, 2009, 01:17:29 AM
Yup! That's exactly what I need, the FAQ's have it.

Glad that was helpful

QuoteI feel the pain EclecticHoobajoo is expressing

So do I, but all we ask is for a little courtesy and patience before bashing the Mod.

QuoteI think we can all agree that no mod is perfectly written, nor should we expect them to be. At the very least, it is probably time for a select committee of Moderators and Tech Support Staff to wade through the mods download area and weed out the mods which are undocumented, buggy, duplicates, outdated, or do not meet the same quality standards that SMF Coders have on their own works like SMF

Here are the some more FAQ's regarding Guidelines for creating Mods which seems to be pretty thorough and extensive.
http://docs.simplemachines.org/index.php?topic=217
http://docs.simplemachines.org/index.php?topic=218
http://docs.simplemachines.org/index.php?topic=506

Mods are submitted and then released (sometimes a month or 2 later) to the SMF Mod Site after they are tested and examined (to make sure they meet the requirement put in place by SMF) by members of SMF Staff, is that kinda what you were talking about?

ɔɔɔɔɔɔuɥoɾ

Quote from: mrtrc266 on April 06, 2009, 01:23:19 AM
Quote from: johncccccc on April 05, 2009, 07:26:46 PM
Thanks again for the mod, I have another problem, well the shoutbox is too high and the tab buttons go over it slightly, look at image

on install all tests passed except board index template, which I edited myself.

any ideas?

Looks like you just have to relocate your shoutbox code in your /yourforum/Themes/[your theme]/index.template.php file just try playing with the location of...
   //shoutBox
   if (!empty($modSettings['enableShoutBox'])){
      if (allowedTo('shout_access')){
         // We'll have to use the cookie to remember the shoutBox header...
         if ($context['user']['is_guest'])
            $options['sb_collapsed'] = !empty($_COOKIE['sb_collapsed']);
           
         echo '
      <script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript">
         var sb_current_header = ', empty($options['sb_collapsed']) ? 'false' : 'true', ';

         function ajax_shoutBox_collapse(mode)
         {';

         if ($context['user']['is_guest'])
            echo '
            document.cookie = "sb_collapsed=" + (mode ? 1 : 0);';
         else
            echo '
            smf_setThemeOption("sb_collapsed", mode ? 1 : 0, null, "', $context['session_id'], '");';

         echo '
            document.getElementById("ajax_shoutbox_collapse").src = smf_images_url + (mode ? "/expand.gif" : "/collapse.gif");

            document.getElementById("ShoutBox").style.display = mode ? "none" : "";

            sb_current_header = mode;
            }
      </script>';

         if (!empty($modSettings['anyPageShoutBox']) || isset($context['chat_isHome'])){
            echo'
      <div class="tborder" style="margin: 10px 0 10px 0;">
         <div class="catbg" style="padding: 5px 15px 5px 10px;margin:0 auto;">
            <a rel="nofollow" href="#" onclick="ajax_shoutBox_collapse(!sb_current_header)"><img id="ajax_shoutbox_collapse" src="', $settings['images_url'], empty($options['sb_collapsed']) ? '/collapse.gif' : '/expand.gif','" alt="*" style="margin-right: 5px;"  /></a>', $txt['shoutBox'], '
         </div>
         <div id="ShoutBox"', empty($options['sb_collapsed']) ? '' : ' style="display: none;"', '>
         ', getShoutBoxContent() ,'
         </div>
      </div>';
         }
      }
   }


If you can't get it post a link to your theme please


Solution by Tyrsson:
Quote
//shoutBox
   if (!empty($modSettings['enableShoutBox'])){
      if (allowedTo('shout_access')){
         // We'll have to use the cookie to remember the shoutBox header...
         if ($context['user']['is_guest'])
            $options['sb_collapsed'] = !empty($_COOKIE['sb_collapsed']);
           
         echo '
         <br /><br />
      <script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript">
         var sb_current_header = ', empty($options['sb_collapsed']) ? 'false' : 'true', ';

         function ajax_shoutBox_collapse(mode)
         {';


SMF 2.0 RC5

   
Webhost to New Webhost file transfer service, PM me - Fast transfers

Gul Ducat

While the guidelines appear to be in place based on your quoted links, I'm not sure they are being adhered to, certainly if the SMF staff evaluates the mods.

I would suggest that perhaps a reverse look at the mods that generate the most support issues be taken.  As in Ajax Chat, are the support issues generated due to a non-compliant requirement in the mod submittal criteria?  If not, then are the support issues generated due to some unforseen code problems which should be addressed as a NEW submittal requirement.  This is like reverse engineering the problem, find the solution, and post the prevention as a part of the mod submittal criteria.

Some of it is pretty basic like not submitting mods unless they are documented with simple things like "what it does", "how it does it", and "how to configure/modify the new features".  Most posted mods fail this area quite often.  Why?  I think the answer is simple, most mod writers do a great job at writing the code but some fall short in documenting the mod.  Mostly, due to the subconscious fact that they understand the mod and don't remember that they wrote it but the user is clueless as to the mod's functionality.

I always assume when dealing with clients that they speak a different language, therefore I go the extra mile to try and explain things as if I was clueless too.  Sounds condescending but it leaves little opportunity for misunderstandings or unforseens.  Even so, I still find an occasion or two where even my methods fail.

mrtrc266

Glad you got it sorted johncccccc. enjoy the mod

mrtrc266

@ bigloutx

Your concerns would be better expressed here in the comments and suggestions topic http://docs.simplemachines.org/index.php#c1

Glad you got the Mod going, I hope you and your members enjoy.

Informatics

#1208
Hi every1, nice to meet all of you here :)

Btw, i just install SMF 2.0 RC1, using default theme.

I have tese mods until now:

Quote
1.Global Headers Footers                         2.0                                               

                     
2.Advanced Reputation System                         1.7.4                                               
                                                                           
                     
3.Advanced Reputation System                         1.7.3                     
                                                 
                     
4.AjaxChat Integration                         3.0                                               
                                                                           
                     
5.Ad Managment                         2.3.4                     
                                                 
                         

I got errors like:

Quote
8: Undefined index:  chatPopUp                                                                                                                                                                                     File: /home2/abcd/MYSITE/Themes/default/GenericList.template.php (body_above sub template - eval?)
                               Line: 268

8: Undefined index:  chatPopUp                                                                                                                                                                                     File: /home2/abcd/MYSITE/Themes/default/BoardIndex.template.php (body_above sub template - eval?)
                               Line: 268

8: Undefined index:  chatPopUp                                                                                                                                                                                     File: /home2/abcd/MYSITE/Themes/default/Packages.template.php (body_above sub template - eval?)
                               Line: 268                           



What's on my mind is, each time i open a page, it will generate a unique error...

Its just different page or file, but with same errors...

Thanx.


You can catch me @ Forum Informatika a.k.a Indonesian Informatics Online Community @ http://if.web.id




Mods:
1. LinkTree v.1.1.0 [Topic  || Download]
2. Header Rotator v.1.1.0 for 1.1.x | v.2.1 for 2.0 [Topic || Download]

mrtrc266

@ cyclon

Enable the PopUp Feature and see if it goes away, go to...

Admin/Configuration/Modifications/Chat/

and check "Chat in popup page?"

Sabbir

Are there plans to have voice support? We really need this for some online classes where an instructor is giving a lecture.. It would be greatly appreciated.

mrtrc266

Quote from: Sabbir on April 07, 2009, 12:00:47 PM
Are there plans to have voice support? We really need this for some online classes where an instructor is giving a lecture.. It would be greatly appreciated.

That has been discussed @ Sourceforge and from what the developers say, probably not :(

jase7

If you get a 500 Connection error you might have to set your file permissions as well. There are 2 folder for the AJAX Chat Intergration Mod "Chat" and "Shoutbox".
For AJAX Chat Intergration Version 3 "Folders" are set @ 755 and all "Files" are set @ 666.
You might have to change the index.php to 755.


Ok, I have installed this mod using 1.1.8, but am still getting the 500 Connection error. I have changed file permissions as above but no luck?


jase7

All sorted now.

I didn't realise that you had to change the index.php file to 755 in both the chat and shoutbox files. I was only changing the main index.php file.

Doh.....


jase7

Ok, now I have it running.

What are the best settings i.e:-

1) I want guests to view the shout box, but not able to amend/delete/add to it

(EDIT: NO GUESTS CAN'T VIEW IT AT ALL REQUIRED)

2) I want members to view shout box  and then when logged in can add to it (but not amend or delete posts)
3) Only me ad administrator can amend/delete posts in the shout box

Do I need the chat intergated with the soundbox? - bit confussed

Some settings I have tried, when a member logs in, it takes him straight to the chat box and not the forum?

Sorry again, just trying to get it correct.

mrtrc266

#1217
Quote from: jase7 on April 07, 2009, 01:11:08 PM
Ok, now I have it running.

What are the best settings i.e:-

1) I want guests to view the shout box, but not able to amend/delete/add to it

(EDIT: NO GUESTS CAN'T VIEW IT AT ALL REQUIRED)

2) I want members to view shout box  and then when logged in can add to it (but not amend or delete posts)
3) Only me ad administrator can amend/delete posts in the shout box

All of the feature above you can set in your permissions, you can set each member group including guests and allow them access to shoutbox and or chat room.

Nobody (including Admin) can amend posts.

By default members can delete their own posts, Admin and Moderators can delete any posts.

(There is a bug though if you allow members to post events in your calendar it allows them to delete any post in the chat) I guess it considers them to have some Moderators rights. A fix for it can be found HERE

Regarding the redirect to the chatrrom on login, it does that sometimes, not all the time, should be fixed in next release.

elgrand

hi i am trying to install on smf 2.0rc1
i am getting the error during install
./Themes/default/index.template.php Test failed

Find [Select]
function template_menu()
{
   global $context, $settings, $options, $scripturl, $txt;
Replace [Select]
function template_menu()
{
   global $context, $settings, $options, $scripturl, $txt, $modSettings;
cant see what is wrong apart for the added bit of txt ($modSettings;)

dharma77

Hi, I install this mod, but i have some problems, first, the cookies the shoutbox show me a conexion error 500 or 0 if for example if i access to my forum from www.myforum.com [nofollow] and then i access from myforum.com [nofollow], the shoutbox show me that error, but the chat not show that error only the shoutbox there are some config to evite this problem.

other cuestion, my default language is set to ES but the chat or shoutbox show the language depend the browser configuration not respet the file configuration how i can solve this problem ?

Thanks for the help ?

Advertisement: