News:

Want to get involved in developing SMF, then why not lend a hand on our github!

Main Menu

How can I convert from MyBB 1.6 to SMF?

Started by Akanti, August 21, 2010, 12:35:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Akanti

Hello. My question is simple. How can I convert from MyBB 1.6 to SMF without lossing posts etc? I am kinda new to the convertion proccess, so I need some detailed instructions.

Thank you.

Akanti.

Akanti

Well, I am using MyBB version 1.6 not 1.4. As I see, there is not a converter for MyBB 1.6 to SMF.

Balaban

oh, sorry...
This mybb released -just- on 3 August . There is no currently but i think devs works for it.

ThorstenE

the MyBB 1.6 database layout is almost the same as in MyBB 1.4. AFAIK the column "uid" was changed to "mid" (table mybb_moderators), everything else is the same..

You can test the MyBB 1.4 converter,  edit the mybb14x_to_smf.sql before converting your board:
Code (find) Select
SELECT uid AS id_member, fid AS id_board

replace it with:
Code (replace) Select
SELECT mid AS id_member, fid AS id_board
(Code changes are for the SMF 2.0 converter)

Akanti

I'll see what I am going to do with this. Thank you.  ;)

Btw, does this code change work only for SMF 2.0? What about 1.1?

ThorstenE

for SMF 1.1 replace
SELECT uid AS ID_MEMBER, fid AS ID_BOARD
with
SELECT mid AS ID_MEMBER, fid AS ID_BOARD

Akanti

So, now that I made my choice, do you think that converting to SMF is the best thing to do?

Akanti

Hmm... where do I upload the "mybb14x_to_smf.sql" file? Also, do I need to upload the ''SMF install'' folder too? If so, where?

xenovanis

Hi Akanti :)

For converting, follow the instructions as described in the manual here:
Converting to SMF

You'll need to install SMF berfore converting, see here for more help on installing:
Installing SMF
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results."

Akanti

Quote from: xenovanis on August 23, 2010, 10:40:42 AM
Hi Akanti :)