News:

Join the Facebook Fan Page.

Main Menu

password incorrect errors

Started by tempneff, February 01, 2011, 01:15:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

tempneff

I am a new admin and as I was checking out the error log ALL i found was "password incorrect" errors....thousands of them! Something must be wrong for sure. I searched a bit here and found that it seems this is an ongoing issue without a definite solution. Am i wrong? I hope I am..

Matthew K.

I would suggest completely clearing your error log and then seeing if they keep coming back, they are what they are...people entering an incorrect password. So it shouldn't be an issue.

tempneff

not exactly. I find this error nearly everytime i log in. The autofill password is not recognized. When I retype it, I can log in. But every automatic login fails 'for me'. I now assume this is happening across the board, or at least in abundance.

Matthew K.

Try turning off your browsers auto-login for your site, or resetting it. Your password that's set in your browser is probably not the correct password.

puhastus

Actually, i have experiences it in my forum too. Some people say that sometimes they cant log in, that they wrote the right password for sure but they got password incorrect error. It worked on next try though...

Its the same with pms too sometimes, some people say that pms are not sent, without an error.

Its only the case with some members, and problem occurs only for specific members, others dont report any errors. I dont see any errors on error log also.

ApplianceJunk

Seem to be having the same problem today. I check and clear my error logs daily. Starting yesterday I started getting pages of password incorrect errors showing up every few hours. Why now?

vbgamer45

Been noticing it on my sites as well. I have my login security mod to check for login attempts on my accounts.

And I noticed a lot of bots are trying all users accounts maybe to spam or something