Newbie questions - is SMF the right choice for my application?

Started by DavidA, April 27, 2011, 02:38:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DavidA

Hi

I have often used bulletin boards/forums and now I want to build my own first forum.  I want it to serve the teachers of a small school. The teachers are in teams and I would like to provide a private forum for each team.  For example, we might have the following forums and participants:

Governers
    Visible to Headmaster, Parent_A

Infant teachers
    Visible to Headmaster, Teacher_A, Teacher_B

Primary teachers
    Visible to Headmaster, Teacher_C, Teacher_D

I will not need to customise the look - we don't need anything fancy. I will need email notifications (hopefully with choice of immediate notification / daily digest).

The most important requirement is that each forum should be visible only to chosen individuals.  Guest access should be disabled.

I am a software engineer but would like a short learning curve as I don't have much time to spend on this task.

Will SMF fulfill these requirements?

Is it easy to configure the security for what I require?

Should I use SMF 1.1, or a SMF 2.0 RC?

If you think that such a simple application as mine would be more suited to another BB software, please say so  ;).

We will run it on Centos 5.5.

I will be very grateful for any advice you can provide.

Best regards

David

Spoogs

SMF will do what you want just fine
I prefer the 2.0 branch simply because I never used 1.1x branch.

SlammedDime

You can create membergroups in SMF and assign membergroups access to specific boards, and then also add various users to 1 or more membergroups.  That should fulfill your biggest requirement.