News:

Bored?  Looking to kill some time?  Want to chat with other SMF users?  Join us in IRC chat or Discord

Main Menu

Slick but boring

Started by KarterJK, August 06, 2003, 11:25:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

KarterJK

I learned how to create a BBS using the original Yabb... I just installed the YabbSE and now SMF seems to be the next generation.  There are things I loved about YabbSE that out weighed the original Yabb.  The database support was genius. but to be truely functional, you needed to understand MySQL (whiich is not SIMPLE).  Plus encrypting everything and using TINYTEXT is a nightmare.  I wished you had allowed two modes of installation via the database. straight text data, vs encryption.  

As, it is now, I have to extensively learn not only YabbSE but how to convert encryption.  God, one can only handle so much. I dont do this for a living as you do.

In the YabbSE forum, I have seen debates about supporting Netscape, differences over the name, charging for customer support, la, la, la, la the list goes ons.

Personally, I think the developers have done a great job.  But I am not certain my needs, really need this slick, new, commercial look.  Somethings are better left simple.

So, here is my wish list....

If its possible, retain the HTML coding for the templates, for the old style format.  But encourage small changes to let people absorb the new information at a gradual pace.

SMF and or Yabb definately needs to still support Netscape.  As much as I dislike Netscape and spent many an hour programming special routines for it.  The point is!  Different strokes, for different folks.

Do, I like the new look?  It reminds me of every of website out there. (slick but boring).  the nice little margin on the left, and ahhhh maybe one on the right and while I see this quite unique for SMF.  I am not certain, I wish to conform to norm or the commercialized look.  Thats why I liked YabbSE and Yabb, it allowed extensive changes.