Advertisement:

Author Topic: 2 databases?  (Read 2189 times)

Offline test1.0

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
2 databases?
« on: March 29, 2012, 12:34:12 PM »
guys say i have

a domain and a sub domain

1 database for the domain and 1 for the sub domain, on the same cpanel account

would that work? and the domain would go to say x database and sub domain to xx database,

or do i just use one database....... :-\

thanks

Lloyd

Offline BlondChick

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Gender: Female
  • Smile, tomorrow will be worse.
    • Amazing-Dreamz
Re: 2 databases?
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2012, 01:26:33 PM »
This might work, especially when each domain has its own forum.

Offline Tristan Perry

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,498
  • Gender: Male
    • Tristan Perry
Re: 2 databases?
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2012, 02:51:34 PM »
Yep that's fine - as long as you're running 2 different forums.

Offline test1.0

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: 2 databases?
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2012, 03:06:56 PM »
sweet! i thought i was right lol...

well its going to be a little online store and a smf forum so hopefully it will be sweet.

Offline Tristan Perry

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,498
  • Gender: Male
    • Tristan Perry
Re: 2 databases?
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2012, 03:10:21 PM »
Sounds good :) Yep it's fine to run multiple apps/softwares on multiple databases. You just enter the different database information when you come to install the scripts.

Offline test1.0

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: 2 databases?
« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2012, 03:15:49 PM »
thats what i thought, thats great thanks for your help.


Offline test1.0

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: 2 databases?
« Reply #6 on: March 29, 2012, 03:18:13 PM »
just noticed your in the uk, me too.

is http://www.attentivehost.com in the uk?

Offline Tristan Perry

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,498
  • Gender: Male
    • Tristan Perry
Re: 2 databases?
« Reply #7 on: March 30, 2012, 01:12:18 PM »
thats what i thought, thats great thanks for your help.
You're welcome :)

just noticed your in the uk, me too.

is http://www.attentivehost.com in the uk?
Yep I'm from the UK and our company is based there but our servers are in LA, USA. :)