News:

Bored?  Looking to kill some time?  Want to chat with other SMF users?  Join us in IRC chat or Discord

Main Menu

Site errors, please check my last posts

Started by DAVID. D.A, January 29, 2013, 05:33:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DAVID. D.A

I know websites have a way of testing out modifications before applying them to the main site, how is this done please?
   I have lots of mods to install on a custom theme, but wouldn't want a situation where after installing, i encounter errors and my members wont be able to use the site for some time, and as such i'm guessing a test site is what i need.

I'm a newbie so please pardon me.
- Will the test site grow as the main site does? i.e if i have 20 new posts, will they be added to the test site automatically?; because i once installed a mod on an empty site and when a post was made, it developed an error.

Just guide me through test sites please

Thank you

mashby

One option is a local "copy" or your site. I'm not so verse in that setup. What I've done in the past is create a new database (don't want to muck up my actual database) and a new site. You'll have an admin account. Setup a few other accounts if you need to test membergroup/permission functionality. Put this new site's files in a folder, too. That's your playground. Welcome to SMF, too. :)
Always be a little kinder than necessary.
- James M. Barrie

DAVID. D.A

Thank you  :)
  So basically, i should reduplicate the site, probably get a subdomain; testsite.mysite.com install smf again and all my mods and themes, then create fake users and posts, then test new mods on this mock site, editing mock theme, before moving to the original site?
  Seems like a lot of work.

mashby

Other option is to not have a test site and just apply the mods/themes on your real site. Perhaps someone else has other suggestions. :)
Always be a little kinder than necessary.
- James M. Barrie

Shambles