Assistance converting from IPB 3.3.4 to SMF 2.0.4

Started by PhuriousGeorge, February 12, 2013, 12:35:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

PhuriousGeorge

Hello all, I'm a new SMF convert ;)

Just to preface, I've attempted to use the converter for 3.2/3.3, however when running the convert.php, it requires a IPB installation, which I do not have. Previously I've ran my forums using IPB's hosting services, but have a Windows 2008 server I'm putting the SMF on, so I do not have a IPB installation to start from. What I've done thus-far is download a backup of my IPB database and recreated it on my dedi's mysql database, but have no idea where to go from there.

Any assistance is appreciated (I'm a sql noob)

Many thanks!
Phur

Matthew K.

Might I suggest hooking up an installation of IPB with your database and then running the converter?

Welcome to SMF, by the way! :)

PhuriousGeorge

Thanks for the welcome.

Because I used their own hosting, I never had access to any IPB installers, etc. I'm not certain how I'd get ahold of a 3.3.4 installation. Up for suggestions.

Matthew K.

I'm going to go ahead and open a help desk ticket on this for you and we'll see if we can get this resolved for you.

PhuriousGeorge

Thanks Labradoodle for the quick replies, nice to see active devs ;) Hopefully in time I'll be able to assist as well. Forcing myself to learn these things as I go lol.

emanuele

You don't need a copy of IPB, it's enough to have the database.
Since you have a dump of IPB, you can create a file called conf_global.php with these data into it:
<?php
$INFO
['sql_driver'] = 'mysql';
$INFO['sql_host'] = 'localhost';
$INFO['sql_database'] = 'your_db_name';
$INFO['sql_user'] = 'root'//or other mysql user
$INFO['sql_pass'] = ''// of course mysql password
$INFO['sql_tbl_prefix'] = '';
$INFO['sql_debug'] = '0';
$INFO['sql_charset'] = '';
$INFO['board_start'] = '1320058966';
$INFO['installed'] = '1';
$INFO['php_ext'] = 'php';
$INFO['safe_mode'] = '0';