Advertisement:

Author Topic: Can't see content of [code]  (Read 5348 times)

Offline Anselm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Can't see content of [code]
« on: July 25, 2012, 11:47:58 AM »
First I thought this was some special feature to let people contribute to this forum but this might not be wanted I suppose.

Well, wether I use iexplore or ff14: i don't see any content of
Code: [Select]

Can anybody help on this?

Offline Suki

  • Carthago delenda est
  • Developer
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 15,696
  • Oh, wouldn't it be great if I *was* crazy?
    • MissAllSunday on GitHub
    • SMF mods
Re: Can't see content of [code]
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2012, 11:48:39 AM »
Hi, welcome to SMF, what SMF version are you using?
Disclaimer: unless otherwise stated, all my posts are personal and does not represent any views or opinions held by Simple Machines.

No todos son tan malos, no todo está mal
No todos son villanos queriéndote matar
No todo está perdido ni se va a acabar
La vida es un pícnic

Offline Anselm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Can't see content of [code]
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2012, 11:56:15 AM »
Sorry, this bug report concerns THIS community forum ;)

kat

  • Guest
Re: Can't see content of [code]
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2012, 11:57:36 AM »
Can you not see it in your first post?

I sure can. :)

Offline Anselm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Can't see content of [code]
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2012, 11:59:23 AM »
what is see is the design element, but not the content, in my first post I did not write anything inside in those code-bracets (which now appear in letters ;)

i first thought, this would be my adblocker, which is now deactivated for this domain... but since IE has none installed and it's not visible there though... I don't know why anybody can see

Code: [Select]
content in here[code]

which I don't

kat

  • Guest
Re: Can't see content of [code]
« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2012, 12:00:55 PM »
So, you can't see this?

Code: [Select]
This is NOT invisible!

Offline Anselm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Can't see content of [code]
« Reply #6 on: July 25, 2012, 12:02:07 PM »
I see the code-block, but no text inside of it, and in case of my post you should see even some text after it... which I can't :/ really strange

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 72,610
    • StoryBB/StoryBB on GitHub
Re: Can't see content of [code]
« Reply #7 on: July 25, 2012, 12:02:50 PM »
What browser are you using?

kat

  • Guest
Re: Can't see content of [code]
« Reply #8 on: July 25, 2012, 12:03:20 PM »
He's tried IE and FF.

It HAS to be something at your end, mate.

Tried a different theme?

Offline Anselm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Can't see content of [code]
« Reply #9 on: July 25, 2012, 12:06:03 PM »
I'm sure it does have to with me... but it's something that shouldn't happen to anybody... as I would see myself as somebody who is quite experienced in computer technology and the internet.

Where can I change to another theme as a user? did not find any link?

BUT, I found a workaround:

i can click select and copy it to my clipboard so i can at least read it through an editor ;)

kat

  • Guest
Re: Can't see content of [code]
« Reply #10 on: July 25, 2012, 12:08:58 PM »

Offline Anselm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Can't see content of [code]
« Reply #11 on: July 25, 2012, 12:12:22 PM »
no chance...

kat

  • Guest
Re: Can't see content of [code]
« Reply #12 on: July 25, 2012, 12:16:04 PM »
No chance of what?


Offline Anselm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Can't see content of [code]
« Reply #13 on: July 25, 2012, 12:17:53 PM »
i still don't see a thing inside of the box...

kat

  • Guest
Re: Can't see content of [code]
« Reply #14 on: July 25, 2012, 12:24:38 PM »
It has to be a browser setting, somewhere...

Maybe a custom style-sheet thing, or summat?

Try installing Opera, straight from the can, as it were.

If you can see the right stuff, then, we'll've narrowed it down.

Offline Anselm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Can't see content of [code]
« Reply #15 on: July 25, 2012, 12:31:10 PM »
hm... yeah, i switched ff and ie before, but a portable version of opera did not change a thing... must be the firewall or something, gonna see another computer in the next days and check that out. Since I found my workaround I could anything I needed and its only interesting for the usability of this bulletin in future...

kat

  • Guest
Re: Can't see content of [code]
« Reply #16 on: July 25, 2012, 12:39:37 PM »
I doubt it'd be the firewall. Maybe a malware/virus thing?

Is it only here, though?

Can you see the code stuff here?

http://www.tlakoc.org.uk/index.php?topic=7421.msg96980#msg96980

Offline emanuele

  • SMF Super Hero
  • *******
  • Posts: 14,156
  • Gender: Male
  • THERE'S JUST ME
Re: Can't see content of [code]
« Reply #17 on: July 25, 2012, 12:51:00 PM »
Could you post a screenshot of how you see a page?
If you have Opera, try right-click on a code block, "inspect element" and see what css defines the text color.


Take a peek at what I'm doing! ;D



Hai bisogno di supporto in Italiano?

Aiutateci ad aiutarvi: spiegate bene il vostro problema: no, "non funziona" non è una spiegazione!!
1) Cosa fai,
2) cosa ti aspetti,
3) cosa ottieni.

MrPhil

  • Guest
Re: Can't see content of [code]
« Reply #18 on: July 25, 2012, 05:10:57 PM »
Look at the page source (HTML) View > Page Source. Is your missing code contents there? If so, start looking at the CSS to see the font and foreground and background colors. If you have FF, install Firebug to examine the code section source. If you add more lines to the code block, does it grow (but empty), or is it empty period? If the page source shows nothing within the code block, that would be very strange. By any chance do you have any odd characters at the beginning of the code, perhaps something that's a control code? You can try a line of "code" like "Hello, World" typed in, not pasted in.

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 72,610
    • StoryBB/StoryBB on GitHub
Re: Can't see content of [code]
« Reply #19 on: February 02, 2014, 04:02:59 PM »
Well, as per the original report, the content was physically there (because the user was able to select/copy it) so it looked to have a style problem and only a style problem.

But I've never been able to reproduce this specific issue, especially not on this site... moving to closed.