Advertisement:

Author Topic: New post doesn't work if SSL is enabled  (Read 421 times)

Offline smartmouse

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 538
New post doesn't work if SSL is enabled
« on: June 05, 2018, 03:39:03 AM »
Hello, I'm using SMF 2.0.14 and I turn on SSL on my forum following this topic.
I have the same problem as described here with a GIF: I can't create new posts.

I think the problem is that on new post it turns back to http, instead of keep url on https.
If i remove the rewrite rules from htaccess, I can create new posts using https url... but after I posted I see that the url is with http again.

What could be the problem?

Offline Aleksi "Lex" Kilpinen

  • Lead Support Specialist
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 17,070
  • Gender: Male
  • Don't worry, I'm n00b friendly
    • Aleksi.Kilpinen on Facebook
    • aleksi-kilpinen on LinkedIn
Re: New post doesn't work if SSL is enabled
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2018, 04:28:32 AM »
Have you made sure all your forum's url settings are actually using https?
What is repair_settings.php?
A Finnish Support Specialist
 Happily running multiple SMF 2.0 installations.

"Before you allow people access to your forum, especially in an administrative position, you must be aware that that person can seriously damage your forum.
 Therefore, you should only allow people that you trust, implicitly, to have such access." -Douglas

Online GigaWatt

  • Support Specialist
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 887
  • Gender: Male
    • Macedonian electronics forum
Re: New post doesn't work if SSL is enabled
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2018, 05:46:21 AM »
Check what Lex posted about repari_settings.php and see if the same thing happens in the default theme (Curve).
"This is really a generic concept about human thinking - when faced with large tasks we're naturally inclined to try to break them down into a bunch of smaller tasks that together make up the whole."

"A 500 error loosely translates to the webserver saying, "WTF?"..."

Offline smartmouse

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 538
Re: New post doesn't work if SSL is enabled
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2018, 06:49:06 PM »
Thank you for your replies.
I double checked repair_settings: all link start with https.
I tried to switch to default them and even with it I get the same problem...

Online Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 56,480
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: New post doesn't work if SSL is enabled
« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2018, 06:54:03 PM »
what is your forum url?
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

Offline smartmouse

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 538

Online vbgamer45

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 20,211
    • smfhacks on Facebook
    • VBGAMER45 on GitHub
    • @createaforum on Twitter
    • SMF For Free
Re: New post doesn't work if SSL is enabled
« Reply #6 on: June 06, 2018, 08:22:21 AM »
If you are using prettyurls visit
https://code.google.com/archive/p/prettyurls/wikis/TroubleShooting.wiki
And follow
Links point to old domain after moving forum
Community Suite for SMF - Take your forum to the next level built for SMF, Gallery,Store,Classifieds,Downloads,more!

SMFHacks.com -  Paid Modifications for SMF

Mods:
EzPortal - Portal System for SMF
SMF Gallery Pro
SMF Store SMF Classifieds Ad Seller Pro

Online Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 56,480
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: New post doesn't work if SSL is enabled
« Reply #7 on: June 06, 2018, 09:28:11 AM »
what is your forum url?
https://goo.gl/WSm22u

please do not hide links behind shorteners when you are asked for a URL.
many of us will not click a link if we do not know where it ACTUALLY goes
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

Offline smartmouse

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 538
Re: New post doesn't work if SSL is enabled
« Reply #8 on: June 06, 2018, 12:22:54 PM »
If you are using prettyurls visit
https://code.google.com/archive/p/prettyurls/wikis/TroubleShooting.wiki
And follow
Links point to old domain after moving forum

Solved! Thank you!

I post here the solution:

Links point to old domain after moving forum

This is very simple to fix, in addition to updating all the other settings with repair_settings.php, this mod has one more setting to fix. You can either manually fix the pretty_root_url setting yourself, or else create a new .php with this code:


Code: [Select]
<?php require_once(dirname(__FILE__) . '/SSI.php'); require_once($sourcedir '/Subs-PrettyUrls.php'); updateSettings(array('pretty_root_url' => $boardurl)); pretty_update_filters(); ?>
Upload the file to the same location as your forum's SSI.php and open it with your web browser. Then don't forget to delete it!



please do not hide links behind shorteners when you are asked for a URL.
many of us will not click a link if we do not know where it ACTUALLY goes
Sorry for this. I did it to avoid my link get indexed by search engines.