Advertisement:

Author Topic: No site after using the repair tool on new website.  (Read 1806 times)

Offline mbchartman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
No site after using the repair tool on new website.
« on: August 13, 2018, 04:04:07 PM »
I want to make a copy of the forum, so I make a copy of files and database to the new domain test01.com (original test.com).

After running the repair tool the database is linked and the site views the home-page. All buttons and also the login are still go to test.com.

What can I do to fix the issue?


I used a different server with old versions of php and mysql. When the 1.x is working I planned a upgrade to 2.x

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 58,423
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: No site after using the repair tool on new website.
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2018, 08:10:17 PM »
You didn’t change the URLs.

You need to change the database AND the URLs AND the paths
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

Offline mbchartman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: No site after using the repair tool on new website.
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2018, 05:02:38 AM »
With the repair tool I changed the url(s). Afterthat still no working site.
In witch table in the SQL database I must change url(s) to let it work?

Offline Shambles

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 5,155
  • Gender: Male
    • i30 Owners Club
Re: No site after using the repair tool on new website.
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2018, 07:50:07 AM »
Your site looks ok now.

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 58,423
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: No site after using the repair tool on new website.
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2018, 09:35:26 AM »
the repair tool DOES change the settings in the database.

If you were not seeing the changes, then I suggest you check with your host to see if they are running some sort of server side cache like varnish.
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

Offline Illori

  • Project Manager
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 51,127
Re: No site after using the repair tool on new website.
« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2018, 09:36:58 AM »
or maybe the database was not copied to a new install, so it may be trying to update stuff in the old database.