Change background color of Home button

Started by 905, September 05, 2019, 11:00:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

I'm using 2.0.15, Curve. What I'd like to do is change the background color of the Home button in the menu, preferably to be the same as the other links, a kind of dark blue (rather than the default orange). Any idea how to do this? Bear in mind that I'm not a coder by any stretch of the imagination, though I have changed bits and pieces from time to time.

Kindred

That orange is highlighting your current location - that's why it's a different color than the "other buttons" ... which only highlight on mouseover
For example, go to "search" and click to go to the search page
the search button is now orange and home will highlight blue when you mousover.

but, if you want to change it index.css around line 1182
.dropmenu li a.active
Слaва
Украинi

Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

"Loki is not evil, although he is certainly not a force for good. Loki is... complicated."

Thank you, I hadn't considered that it's only that color when highlighting your current location. Still, if I want to change it to something else, I'm not sure how to do that. I found that bit of code, but don't understand how to change the color. It says:

.dropmenu li a.active
{
   background: url(../images/theme/menu_gfx.png) no-repeat 100% 0;
   color: #fff;
   font-weight: bold;

but #fff isn't orange...?

Gary

That's because the #FFF is representing the text, not the orange background. That is contained as part of the menu_gfx.png image.
Gary M. Gadsdon
Do NOT PM me unless I say so
War of the Simpsons
Bongo Comics Fan Forum
Youtube Let's Plays

^ YT is changing monetisation policy, help reach 1000 sub threshold.

Mick.