Advertisement:

Author Topic: Disabled BBCode, no effect, forum still parses BBCode  (Read 270 times)

Offline Tripredacus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Disabled BBCode, no effect, forum still parses BBCode
« on: February 19, 2021, 11:38:44 AM »
Forum version: SMF 2.0.5 (yes i know, upgrade, but I am not in charge of this)

In Admin CP, there is the section where specific BBCodes can be enabled or disabled. What I want to do is disable a few, specifically BR and TR (TD and table can go, doesn't matter). If I uncheck the boxes for BR and TR, it seems ok, but doing a test post, the forum will still parse these codes. It does this for admins, mods or regular users. I want to be able to type [ TR ] (without spaces) in a post without using codebox, but not disable BBCode for the entire post.

In my test post, I type this:

Code: [Select]
Text [TR]
Text [BR]

and submit shows as

Code
 Code

and on edit, shows as:
Code: [Select]
Text [table][tr][td]
Text [BR][/td][/tr][/table]

I am presuming that by unchecking the boxes for br and tr tags in the admin cp, these tags should be ignored in posts (going forward), but it obviously isn't. So what files can I look at to actually disable these codes?

Offline Aleksi "Lex" Kilpinen

  • A Peculiar Finn
  • Project Manager
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 19,832
  • Gender: Male
  • Don't worry, I'm n00b friendly
    • Aleksi.Kilpinen on Facebook
    • LexArma on GitHub
    • aleksi-kilpinen on LinkedIn
    • My Daily Dose Of Blasphemy
Re: Disabled BBCode, no effect, forum still parses BBCode
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2021, 11:43:03 AM »
Interesting issue, have you tried emptying the cache? ( Just thinking, the setting might be cached. )

There is a different approach to that too, you can surround any bbc with [nobbc][/nobbc] to achieve what I did here. :P
A Finnish Project Manager (Support Specialist)
Happily running multiple SMF 2.x installations.
 Fooling around with an i7-10700 @ 2,90GHz-4.80GHz / 16Gb / RTX-2070 Super / 3840x2160 / Win 10 x64


How you can help SMF

"Before you allow people access to your forum, especially in an administrative position, you must be aware that that person can seriously damage your forum.
Therefore, you should only allow people that you trust, implicitly, to have such access." -Douglas

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 60,210
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: Disabled BBCode, no effect, forum still parses BBCode
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2021, 12:51:56 PM »
I don't think that you can disable TR without also disabling table and td
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

"Loki is not evil, although he is certainly not a force for good. Loki is... complicated."

Offline shawnb61

  • Dev. Team Mentor
  • Developer
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 3,113
    • sbulen on GitHub
Re: Disabled BBCode, no effect, forum still parses BBCode
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2021, 01:00:20 PM »
I just tried it, and OP is correct, the individual bbc disable flags do not work for these. 

Yeah, I thought the same about table/tr/td.  So I tested disabling all the table, tr, td, br, etc.  Same behavior.  In fact, I disabled all via the checkboxes & see the same behavior.

It's a bug.  Not a new one, either, as 2.0.17 behaves the same way.
Address the process rather than the outcome.  Then, the outcome becomes more likely.   - Fripp

Offline Tripredacus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Disabled BBCode, no effect, forum still parses BBCode
« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2021, 04:40:07 PM »
There is a different approach to that too, you can surround any bbc with [nobbc][/nobbc] to achieve what I did here. :P

This will work for me in the interim, but otherwise good to see I did find some bug.

Online Steve

  • Freak
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 4,812
  • Gender: Male
  • I have not yet begun to procrastinate.
Re: Disabled BBCode, no effect, forum still parses BBCode
« Reply #5 on: February 20, 2021, 08:21:43 AM »
Marking solved then. And consider the bug you found reported. :)
Please do not PM me for support.

I just ordered a life alert bracelet so
if I get a life, I'll be notified immediately.