Advertisement:

Author Topic: About me  (Read 3814 times)

Offline CLICKBANKS.NET

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • Gender: Male
  • www.Tandiono.com
    • www.TANDIONO.COM
About me
« on: May 15, 2006, 01:01:05 PM »
SMF Version: SMF 1.0.7
Is't possible to add "about me" something like biography about members on "Profile" ?
Tandiono.com | Mikess.com | WebsiteForum.net | AudioForum.net | ToysForum.net | GadgetForum.net | ClickBankForum.net | ForumBoards.net | VerySoon.net | ClickBanks.net

Offline Prasad007

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,557
  • Gender: Male
  • JOOMLA AND SMF FAN!!
Re: About me
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2006, 01:02:46 PM »
heyya gr8 point brought up! :)
Something like this should be in SMF... its in all other bb's.
And it should be a default SMF feature.


This should be in feature requests.

Offline CLICKBANKS.NET

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • Gender: Male
  • www.Tandiono.com
    • www.TANDIONO.COM
Re: About me
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2006, 01:04:16 PM »
Yup, it's very important so member could write about their data on the profile :)


is there any code for this?
Tandiono.com | Mikess.com | WebsiteForum.net | AudioForum.net | ToysForum.net | GadgetForum.net | ClickBankForum.net | ForumBoards.net | VerySoon.net | ClickBanks.net

Offline Skipdawg

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 895
  • Gender: Male
  • SMF Über Fan!
    • Skipdawg Central
Re: About me
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2006, 04:36:51 PM »
There is this http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=24728.0
But I've never used it. But you could look to see if it would work for you.
Skipdawg's Community

Powered by SMF 1.1.3

Offline gamesmad

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,667
  • Gender: Male
Re: About me
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2006, 05:01:19 PM »
Ive not tried it, but http://mods.simplemachines.org/index.php?mod=319 looks like it might help.

Will
1 on 1 SMF Help - Want 1 on 1 SMF Help? Post in Help Wanted or drop me a message!

Go Charter! - Please consider becoming a charter member to support SMF development.

Please do not PM me with general questions, posting in the appropriate board will ensure everyone benefits from the advice given.

Offline woden

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 58
    • PetFish.Net
Re: About me
« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2006, 06:26:00 PM »
On the default theme Profile.template.php

Look for:

Code: [Select]
// Some more information.
echo '
</td>
</tr><tr>
<td><b>', $txt[96], ': </b></td>
<td><a href="', $context['member']['website']['url'], '" target="_blank">', $context['member']['website']['title'], '</a></td>
</tr>

and after that add this:

Code: [Select]
<tr><td colspan="2"><hr size="1" width="100%" class="hrcolor" /></td>
</tr><tr>
<td><b>About Me: </b></td>
<td>', parse_bbc (@$context['member']['options']['about_me']), '</td>
</tr><tr>
<td colspan="2"><hr size="1" width="100%" class="hrcolor" /></td>


The look for:

Code: [Select]
// Website details.
echo '
<tr>
<td colspan="2"><hr width="100%" size="1" class="hrcolor" /></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td width="40%"><b>', $txt[83], ': </b><div class="smalltext">', $txt[598], '</div></td>
<td><input type="text" name="websiteTitle" size="50" value="', $context['member']['website']['title'], '" /></td>
</tr><tr>
<td width="40%"><b>', $txt[84], ': </b><div class="smalltext">', $txt[599], '</div></td>
<td><input type="text" name="websiteUrl" size="50" value="', $context['member']['website']['url'], '" /></td></tr>';

And after that add:


Code: [Select]
echo '<tr>
<td><b>About Me: </b></td>
<td><textarea name="default_options[about_me]" rows="4" cols="80" class="editor">', @$context['member']['options']['about_me'], '</textarea></td>
</tr>';

It's that easy. Please make backups before you change things. ;D
« Last Edit: May 15, 2006, 06:28:04 PM by woden »