AjaxChat Integration (latest version 3.2.1)

Started by .HuNTeR., August 27, 2008, 12:59:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

TurtleKicker

Quick question:

I have an older version (1.2.2) of this mod installed in my forum, and due to numerous manual edits it will not uninstall cleanly in order to upgrade. Honestly though I have no issues with the version I'm running (plus I'll get the latest version once I upgrade to SMF2 final)... however I'd like to have that feature where it displays the number of users in the chat up next to the tab. I figured it'd be easier to hack in this one feature than going through the chaos and hassle up upgrading the whole mod and manually editing several files for extra features I don't need.

Having some trouble, though, and am hoping there's a simple fix. Here's the code I tried in my index.template.php:

// the [chat] button
$chatPath = str_replace("index.php", "chat/index.php", $scripturl);
$num = count(chatOnlineUsers());
if ($context['user']['is_logged'])
echo $context['browser']['is_ie4'] ? '<td class="maintab_active_' . $first . '">&nbsp;</td>' : '', '
<td valign="top" class="maintab_back">
<a href="', $chatPath, '" target="_blank" title="Chat">', '<img src="' . $settings['images_url'] . '/chat.png" border="0" />', ($num > 0) ?  ('('.$num.')') : '' , '</a></td>';


However, this fails and stops displaying content after the chat tab. Is there anyone who can help me out?

Lou69

Greets all,

I have tried to install Ajax Chat Integration 3.2.1 mod onto 2.0 RC3 and I receive the following warning:

"The package you are trying to download or install is either corrupt or not compatible with this version of SMF."

According to documents, the two are compatible. I have downloaded several copies, all give the above warning when installed.

What is your advice as to how I should handle this?

Best regards,

Lou

:)


mrtrc266

Quote from: rajeshn on April 29, 2010, 11:31:32 AM
Hi,
Thanks for the Chat integration. Is it possible to place the chat below all the categories?

Thanks
Rajesh

What version of SMF? If SMF 2 then read this http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=257973.msg2107351#msg2107351

mrtrc266

Quote from: Abavagada on April 29, 2010, 12:18:01 PM
I managed to set up a button on each forum to open the chat to the proper channel automatically.

I have a question now which (I hope) is easier to answer.
According to the sourceforge page on setting custom moderators:
http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/ajax-chat/index.php?title=Custom_moderators_and_admins
the forum admins become chat admins, and forum moderators become chat moderators in the forum integration versions of the chat.

However, when a forum moderator becomes a chat moderator, they can moderate ALL channels. I'm wondering if there is a way to restrict them being moderators to just the forums they moderate.

Thanks


I Haven't messed around with this too much but are they Global Mods? If so then they will probably be able to Moderate all the Channels as well. Try to create test account as a local Moderator and give them permission to moderate a certain board and see if it gives them permission to moderate just that channel or all channels as well?

mrtrc266

Quote from: PDW on April 29, 2010, 12:21:34 PM
an idea for a "mod" for this chat that would make it even more awesome,
have a "nudge" function.. it would liek like this.
*say i wanted to talk to someone but there not lookin at the chat, just lookin at the posts and abut to go offline after
*I could type /nudge /personsname/
*a popup would display telling them they have been nudged

OR something like that. would it be possible?

Not sure if this helps but here is a little info on how to add IRC Style Commands, this is just an example of 1 custom command but maybe someone that knows how to code can get what you like, possibly ask at Source Forge as that's where the developers of AJAX Chat hang out.

http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/ajax-chat/index.php?title=Custom_IRC_style_commands

mrtrc266

Quote from: Lou69 on April 29, 2010, 10:15:40 PM
Greets all,
I have tried to install Ajax Chat Integration 3.2.1 mod onto 2.0 RC3 and I receive the following warning:

"The package you are trying to download or install is either corrupt or not compatible with this version of SMF."

According to documents, the two are compatible. I have downloaded several copies, all give the above warning when installed.

What is your advice as to how I should handle this?

Best regards,
Lou
:)

You need the one for RC3
AjaxChat   Integration_3.2.1 RC3_Curve_Friendly.zip

mrtrc266

@ sremick

I don't even see the link to your chat button? What's the URL to the site you're trying to get this working on?

Abavagada

Quote from: mrtrc266 on April 30, 2010, 12:59:05 AM
Quote from: Abavagada on April 29, 2010, 12:18:01 PM
I managed to set up a button on each forum to open the chat to the proper channel automatically.

I have a question now which (I hope) is easier to answer.
According to the sourceforge page on setting custom moderators:
http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/ajax-chat/index.php?title=Custom_moderators_and_admins
the forum admins become chat admins, and forum moderators become chat moderators in the forum integration versions of the chat.

However, when a forum moderator becomes a chat moderator, they can moderate ALL channels. I'm wondering if there is a way to restrict them being moderators to just the forums they moderate.

Thanks


I Haven't messed around with this too much but are they Global Mods? If so then they will probably be able to Moderate all the Channels as well. Try to create test account as a local Moderator and give them permission to moderate a certain board and see if it gives them permission to moderate just that channel or all channels as well?

I've already done that. A moderator of one forum can moderate all chat channels. They become chat admins by default. I can't even find where to make them just chat moderators, instead of admins. That page says this is only done in the integrated version.


rajeshn

Quote from: mrtrc266 on April 30, 2010, 12:55:18 AM
Quote from: rajeshn on April 29, 2010, 11:31:32 AM
Hi,
Thanks for the Chat integration. Is it possible to place the chat below all the categories?

Thanks
Rajesh

What version of SMF? If SMF 2 then read this http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=257973.msg2107351#msg2107351

Hi,

thanks for the reply. I am using version 1.1.1.1.

Rajesh

mrtrc266

@ Abavagada
I'll have to take a look when I get some time.

@ rajeshn
Sorry about that, that is how to do it for 1.1.1X as well  ;)

TurtleKicker

Quote from: mrtrc266 on April 30, 2010, 01:08:19 AM
I don't even see the link to your chat button? What's the URL to the site you're trying to get this working on?

The site is the one in my sig. Chat button only appears for logged-in/registered users. Right now I haven't applied the code I posted since it broke things.

I don't really understand PHP all that well so I was hoping I was just making a simple error in the code I posted that someone could identify.

brion

Quote from: mrtrc266 on April 29, 2010, 01:06:16 AM
Quote from: brion on April 28, 2010, 01:55:28 PM
Quote from: mrtrc266 on April 27, 2010, 10:57:08 PM
Quote from: brion on April 27, 2010, 10:44:17 PM
Here is an image of what I mean, the top links like profile, search, home, etc. Would show number of users in chat.

That should be a default feature for AJAX Integration.

In your Forums Admin Enable online chat users numbering on chat   button?

For SMF 1.1.X Admin/Configuration/Features and Options/
For   SMF 2 RC1  Admin/Configuration/Modifications/Chat/

Ok I found out the button was unchecked, however it didn't fix it. Here is the two coding places for my chatroom button. I added it manually.

<link rel="chatroom" href="/chat/index.php" target="_BLANK" />

if ($context['allow_search'])
    echo '<li', $current_action == 'search' ? ' class="chosen"' : '', '><a href="', $scripturl, '?action=search">' , $txt[182] , '</a></li>';
    echo '<li', $current_action == 'gallery' ? ' class="chosen"' : '', '><a href="', $scripturl, '?action=gallery">Gallery</a></li>';
    echo '<li', $current_action == 'chatroom' ? ' class="chosen"' : '', '><a href="/chat/index.php" target="_BLANK">Chatroom</a></li>';
    echo '<li', $current_action == 'game' ? ' class="chosen"' : '', '><a href="game.php">Game</a></li>';


You're missing the code that allows you to show the # of user in chat on the chat button in your index.template.php file.
Find
echo '<li', $current_action == 'chatroom' ? ' class="chosen"' : '', '><a href="/chat/index.php" target="_BLANK">Chatroom</a></li>';
Replace with

   // the [chat] button
   $chatPath = str_replace("index.php", "chat/index.php", $scripturl);
   $num = (empty($modSettings['enableChatButtonNo'])) ? 0 : count(chatOnlineUsers());
   echo $context['browser']['is_ie4'] ? '<td class="maintab_active_' . $first . '">&nbsp;</td>' : '', '
      <li class="chosen">
         <a href="', $chatPath, '"', empty($modSettings['chatPopUp']) ? 'target="_blank"' : ' onclick="openWindow(this.href);this.blur();return false;"', '>', $txt['chat'], ($num > 0) ?  ('('.$num.')') : '' , '</a>
      </li>';


Attach your index.template.php file if that doesn't work.

It now says Chat and link works, but still has no numbers or users online. Attached is the file.

Lou69

Quote from: mrtrc266 on April 30, 2010, 01:04:49 AM
Quote from: Lou69 on April 29, 2010, 10:15:40 PM
Greets all,
I have tried to install Ajax Chat Integration 3.2.1 mod onto 2.0 RC3 and I receive the following warning:

"The package you are trying to download or install is either corrupt or not compatible with this version of SMF."

According to documents, the two are compatible. I have downloaded several copies, all give the above warning when installed.

What is your advice as to how I should handle this?

Best regards,
Lou
:)

You need the one for RC3
AjaxChat   Integration_3.2.1 RC3_Curve_Friendly.zip

Ahhhhh .... beat head against the table for silly mistake. Thanks.  :)

mrtrc266

Quote from: OZZIE on April 29, 2010, 05:06:49 AM
Quote from: mrtrc266 on April 29, 2010, 01:40:36 AM
Quote from: OZZIE on April 28, 2010, 08:38:47 PM
im open to suggestions....

ive tried just about everything in this thread chmod'ing/new htaccess files manual upload etc etc and for the life of me all i keep geting in the shout is   ChatBot: Error: Connection status: 404...im at my wits end and about to give up anyone got any thing else i can try? ???

Is it just the shoutbox or both that chat and the shout?
-------------------------
i get the same error on both mrtrc266

I got it sorted for you, seems to be the Portal you're using.

I Added this to your .htaccess file (the one in the same directory as your /SSI.php file)
DirectoryIndex portal.php index.php index.html index.htm

Ozzie

you are my new hero i have been at my wits end with this i cannot thank you enough

2000+ games available to download

mrtrc266

Quote from: OZZIE on April 30, 2010, 10:17:13 PM
you are my new hero i have been at my wits end with this i cannot thank you enough

No problem at all, glad I could help. Enjoy the Mod! :-)

mrtrc266

@ brion

Try this, if it doesn't work please post a link to the theme are you using

mrtrc266

Quote
Ahhhhh .... beat head against the table for silly mistake. Thanks.  :)

No problem, glad you got it going....Enjoy :-)

Am'

Hi,

what are the commands for the shoutbox? now I just find /me

is that it is possible to adapt the shoutbox with this mod "Member Color Link" please

http://custom.simplemachines.org/mods/index.php?mod=111

???

thx
اذا أحس أحد انه لم يخطأ ابدا في حياته, فهذا يعني أنه لم يجرب أي جديد في حياته
My Mods For SMF 2 RC3 : XQuote XCode - Vbulletin Style New Meta Tags

brion

Quote from: mrtrc266 on April 30, 2010, 11:33:02 PM
@ brion

Try this, if it doesn't work please post a link to the theme are you using

I get this error

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '}' in /home/fayt/public_html/Themes/DPtheme/index.template.php on line 276

Advertisement: