Why the dissatisfaction?

Started by xenovanis, February 07, 2005, 04:23:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

xenovanis

Last week I noticed several people complaining about the lack of help on this forum. I saw them threatening to use other forums like phpBB and IPB, harass teammembers, even deleting their accounts. This is something I don't understand.

Since I registered to this forum (being a complete noob, knowing absolutely nothing about php) a couple of months ago I found my answers here, learned about php and mysql and got answers to all my questions, either by asking in a topic, reading topics, reading faqs and manuals or using the search buttons. This was so even before I became a chartermember, and still is.

Why is it that people expect the teammembers of SMF to do everything for them? This forum is filled with information, you should just take the time to find what you want. You can't expect to use open source software without the needs of modifying some aspects, which is also the beauty of it because you can adjust your forum to your satisfaction. Plenty of members are willing to share their findings, themes, mods for free, which they made in their own time and with their own skills. So, maybe they are not perfect at once, with the help of others they will be.

I'd just like to point out my appreciation to the ones who made this great project possible and for the help I received. Whereever and whenever I look I see teammembers running around helping others out and I'm proud to be part of this community. It makes me want to help others as well.

So, before you start complaining, consider this:

-> You're using free software
-> Everything possible will be done to make it perfect, no matter how many upgrades it might take
-> Most of your answers are stored somewhere in this forum, use the searchbutton
-> If they are not, the teammembers will do everything within their knowledge to help you out