Advertisement:

Author Topic: "Home" landing page... sorry if this is a repost..  (Read 3299 times)

Offline palbanes

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
"Home" landing page... sorry if this is a repost..
« on: April 28, 2008, 04:27:06 PM »
I know that none of the "portal" mods work in this beta of SMF, but I was wondering if there is a simple way to point the "Home" button to a simple HTML description of our group (inside of the forum layout), and have a "Forum" button that points to the forum index.  I simply want a way to integrate a welcome / summary message to our site.  Any ideas?

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 58,498
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: "Home" landing page... sorry if this is a repost..
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2008, 04:36:43 PM »
yes... edit the target of "home" in subs.php

Code: [Select]
$buttons = array(
'home' => array(
'title' => $txt['home'],
'href' => $scripturl,
'show' => true,
'sub_buttons' => array(
),
),

instead of $scripturl, enter 'http://your.page.com',
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.

Offline palbanes

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: "Home" landing page... sorry if this is a repost..
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2008, 04:24:51 PM »
yes... edit the target of "home" in subs.php

Code: [Select]
$buttons = array(
'home' => array(
'title' => $txt['home'],
'href' => $scripturl,
'show' => true,
'sub_buttons' => array(
),
),

instead of $scripturl, enter 'http://your.page.com [nofollow]',

Thanks!

I have 2 issues though.

1. My forum is installed to the root of my website, so the forum index.php interferes with the one I want to create.. how can I resolve this?

2. When I reroute the home button, how will users get to the forum?

Offline Kindred

  • The Mean One
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 58,498
  • Gender: Male
    • Kindred-999 on GitHub
Re: "Home" landing page... sorry if this is a repost..
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2008, 05:18:44 PM »
If you have installed the forum into the root, then you are going to have a problem using another script as index.php.

You will have to move the forum to a subdirectory, add YOUR page to the root and access the forum from a link on your page.
(move all forum files into a sub directory and then upload and run repair_settings.php to reset the urls and paths.)

And you could have a button that says "Home Page" and another one that says "forum home"

(instead of changing the existing home array, take a COPY of it, put it in front of the original and target the site homepage as instructed.

You can alter the text of the button $txt['home'] and add a new one (ie add $txt['sitehome']= 'Site Home';) in index.english.php
Please do not PM, IM or Email me with support questions.  You will get better and faster responses in the support boards.  Thank you.