Advertisement:

Author Topic: Custom Top Menu  (Read 59729 times)

Offline smp420

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,520
Custom Top Menu
« on: May 15, 2010, 12:57:45 PM »
Link to Mod




Replace your SMF logo with a custom menu similar to this site. The settings for this mod are in Administration Center » Modification Settings » Top Menu. To disable a tab simply leave it blank. You can also have a tab open in a new page. If you want to see a demo just scroll up this mod adds the same menu as this site but without the dropdowns (dropdowns may be added later). This mod will most likely only install in curve variants.

Current languages supported
*English
*Russian

**Please attach translations in the mod support topic**

If you have any problems please use the support topic respectfully.


**Changelog**
Version 1.4
*Updated for 2.0 RC4 and 2.0.11

Version 1.3
*Added the ability to open tabs in a new page.

Version 1.2
*Added support for Russian language

Version 1.1
*Fixed all tabs being active

Version 1.0
*Initial release
« Last Edit: December 25, 2010, 11:40:44 AM by smp420 »
“Things turn out best for those who make the best of the way things turn out.” -Jack Buck

Offline hitboy

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • Web Hosting Forum
Re: Custom Top Menu
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2010, 03:22:17 PM »
Going to try this mod out thanks

Offline hitboy

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • Web Hosting Forum
Re: Custom Top Menu
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2010, 03:37:54 PM »
I am getting this error message

Quote
Error in Package Installation
At least one error was encountered during a test installation of this package. It is strongly recommended that you do not continue with installation unless you know what you are doing, and have made a backup very recently. This error may be caused by a conflict between the package you're trying to install and another package you have already installed, an error in the package, a package which requires another package that you don't have installed yet, or a package designed for another version of SMF.

Offline rd

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 4,734
  • Gender: Male
Re: Custom Top Menu
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2010, 03:46:54 PM »
Congratz smp!

Anyway, hitboy what mods do you have installed? If you have a custom theme that is not curve varient then this won't work or if you have a conflicting mod.

Offline hitboy

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • Web Hosting Forum
Re: Custom Top Menu
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2010, 04:29:08 PM »
I'm using the curve theme as far as mods I do really have that many

Offline Cutter65

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 81
    • Outdoor-talk Forum
Re: Custom Top Menu
« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2010, 04:37:01 PM »
Thanks for this very useful mod!  8)

Works great!  :)

Cutter


Offline DoctorMalboro

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 9,076
  • Gender: Male
  • うまいいいいいい!!!!!
    • @DoctorMalboro on Twitter
    • Personal website
Re: Custom Top Menu
« Reply #6 on: May 15, 2010, 04:48:13 PM »
Excellent mod, congrats!! ;)

TheListener

  • Guest
Re: Custom Top Menu
« Reply #7 on: May 15, 2010, 06:19:03 PM »
This looks interesting.

Would someone use it care to show the mod in action?

Offline alex Clone

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 259
Re: Custom Top Menu
« Reply #8 on: May 15, 2010, 06:23:39 PM »
This is quite cool ;)

Maybe in a future verison you could add a drop down menu system like this site has :D

Good job xD

Offline Afro

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,855
  • Gender: Male
  • http://twitter.com/afrowall
    • Global Runs
Re: Custom Top Menu
« Reply #9 on: May 15, 2010, 06:45:16 PM »
Looks tidy. good one.

TheListener

  • Guest
Re: Custom Top Menu
« Reply #10 on: May 15, 2010, 06:59:00 PM »
Afro now I have seen the mod in action on ya forum I may have to find a use for it.

 ;D

Offline Liam.

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,239
  • Gender: Male
Re: Custom Top Menu
« Reply #11 on: May 15, 2010, 07:41:13 PM »
IMO, it looks ugly having them all as active tabs... Wouldn't it look visually better if none of them were active, except on hover-over?

TheListener

  • Guest
Re: Custom Top Menu
« Reply #12 on: May 15, 2010, 07:47:04 PM »
IMO, it looks ugly having them all as active tabs... Wouldn't it look visually better if none of them were active, except on hover-over?

Fusspot.

 ;D

Maybe if the colour of the tab was a lighter blue.

Depends on the forum theme.

Offline Afro

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,855
  • Gender: Male
  • http://twitter.com/afrowall
    • Global Runs
Re: Custom Top Menu
« Reply #13 on: May 15, 2010, 09:02:40 PM »
Afro now I have seen the mod in action on ya forum I may have to find a use for it.

 ;D
yea, it looks good and tidy to me. i had those links there before but i added them through current theme settings.

IMO, it looks ugly having them all as active tabs... Wouldn't it look visually better if none of them were active, except on hover-over?

nice point, lets see if he could change that in the next version.

Offline smp420

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,520
Re: Custom Top Menu
« Reply #14 on: May 16, 2010, 12:19:50 AM »
I am getting this error message

Quote
Error in Package Installation
At least one error was encountered during a test installation of this package. It is strongly recommended that you do not continue with installation unless you know what you are doing, and have made a backup very recently. This error may be caused by a conflict between the package you're trying to install and another package you have already installed, an error in the package, a package which requires another package that you don't have installed yet, or a package designed for another version of SMF.
Attach the file you got that error on.

This is quite cool ;)

Maybe in a future verison you could add a drop down menu system like this site has :D

Good job xD
The next version will have dropdowns for sure I will  get tht out soon.

IMO, it looks ugly having them all as active tabs... Wouldn't it look visually better if none of them were active, except on hover-over?
That is one thing I was debating, on how it should be it could be changed easily in index.template.php, if enough people want it like that I will change it.
“Things turn out best for those who make the best of the way things turn out.” -Jack Buck

Offline akbora

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 960
    • Anında Tepki
Re: Custom Top Menu
« Reply #15 on: May 16, 2010, 01:17:17 AM »
This is Very Very good work. Excellent mod really...

Because I had requested that like your mod before at mod request topic.

http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=363108.msg2481881#msg2481881
SMF 2.0.13
Default Theme
Utf8 Turkish
---------------

Offline smp420

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,520
Re: Custom Top Menu
« Reply #16 on: May 16, 2010, 01:27:29 AM »
Thanks for all the kind words here.
“Things turn out best for those who make the best of the way things turn out.” -Jack Buck

Offline Afro

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 1,855
  • Gender: Male
  • http://twitter.com/afrowall
    • Global Runs
Re: Custom Top Menu
« Reply #17 on: May 16, 2010, 05:23:50 AM »
Quote
That is one thing I was debating, on how it should be it could be changed easily in index.template.php, if enough people want it like that I will change it.

Well IMHO, You dont need so many votes to change it. typical smf buttons  are not active until clicked or hovered.

Offline rd

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 4,734
  • Gender: Male
Re: Custom Top Menu
« Reply #18 on: May 16, 2010, 05:58:52 AM »
Yo, did you get my PM?

Anyways awesome mod!

Offline ~DS~

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 2,598
  • Gender: Male
Re: Custom Top Menu
« Reply #19 on: May 16, 2010, 12:44:02 PM »
“There is no god, and that’s the simple truth. If every trace of any single religion were wiped out and nothing were passed on, it would never be created exactly that way again. There might be some other nonsense in its place, but not that exact nonsense. If all of science were wiped out, it would still be true and someone would find a way to figure it all out again."
~Penn Jillette – God, NO! – 2011