Advertisement:

Author Topic: Can the words "Child Boards" be changed...  (Read 6565 times)

Offline Debido

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 121
Can the words "Child Boards" be changed...
« on: December 29, 2014, 02:41:19 AM »
fairly easily to something like "Additional Boards" "Related Boards" or something on that order?

Offline Antechinus

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 24,265
  • Master of BBC Abuse
Re: Can the words "Child Boards" be changed...
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2014, 02:50:08 AM »
Yes. Admin language editor > General strings. Take a look and see how you go. ;)

Offline Debido

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 121
Re: Can the words "Child Boards" be changed...
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2014, 04:12:13 AM »
please excuse my ignorance but im not seeing anything like that

admin language editor>general strings

where will i find such a thing? ;D

Offline Bobby

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 140
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm SMF Fan!
    • layphatvn on Facebook
    • layphat.com
Re: Can the words "Child Boards" be changed...
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2014, 04:36:02 AM »
Go to Themes/default/languages/index.english.php
Search for: $txt['parent_boards'] = 'Child Boards';
Replace with: $txt['parent_boards'] = 'Additional Boards or Related Boards';

Offline Debido

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 121
Re: Can the words "Child Boards" be changed...
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2014, 05:19:04 AM »
thank you i will give that a try on my test forum  :)

Offline Burke ♞ Knight

  • SMF Hero
  • ******
  • Posts: 3,534
Re: Can the words "Child Boards" be changed...
« Reply #5 on: December 29, 2014, 06:08:16 AM »
There's always this, which changes it to Sub-Boards, like it is now in 2.1 Beta.

http://custom.simplemachines.org/mods/index.php?mod=1501

Offline Steve

  • Freak
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 4,488
  • Gender: Male
  • I have not yet begun to procrastinate.
Re: Can the words "Child Boards" be changed...
« Reply #6 on: December 29, 2014, 08:48:44 AM »
Or better yet, this one that allows you to change it to whatever you want:

http://custom.simplemachines.org/mods/index.php?mod=1867
Online Manual

Please do not PM me for support.

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 71,028
    • StoryBB/StoryBB on GitHub
Re: Can the words "Child Boards" be changed...
« Reply #7 on: December 29, 2014, 08:50:16 AM »
Or better yet use the in-built language editor that Antechinus pointed out ;)

* Arantor continues to be glad he changed this in 2.1 though
Don’t try to tell me that some power can corrupt a person. You haven’t had enough to know what it’s like.

No good deed goes unpunished / No act of charity goes unresented.

Offline Steve

  • Freak
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 4,488
  • Gender: Male
  • I have not yet begun to procrastinate.
Re: Can the words "Child Boards" be changed...
« Reply #8 on: December 29, 2014, 08:55:05 AM »
Then I'll ask the same question as Debido ... where will I find such a thing?
Online Manual

Please do not PM me for support.

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 71,028
    • StoryBB/StoryBB on GitHub
Re: Can the words "Child Boards" be changed...
« Reply #9 on: December 29, 2014, 08:57:31 AM »
Admin > Languages > click the name of the language > select General Strings from the dropdown.
Don’t try to tell me that some power can corrupt a person. You haven’t had enough to know what it’s like.

No good deed goes unpunished / No act of charity goes unresented.

Offline Illori

  • Project Manager
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 50,843
Re: Can the words "Child Boards" be changed...
« Reply #10 on: December 29, 2014, 09:04:21 AM »
although if you edit the strings that way and you have no backup and wish to revert your changes you may run into issues. IMO FTP and a text editor is a better way to edit the strings.

Offline Steve

  • Freak
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 4,488
  • Gender: Male
  • I have not yet begun to procrastinate.
Re: Can the words "Child Boards" be changed...
« Reply #11 on: December 29, 2014, 09:06:12 AM »
Well slap my @ss and call me Sally ... that's awesome ... one mod I can get rid of. Thanks Arantor and Antechinus! :D


At Illori, one should always have a backup before making changes, yes?
Online Manual

Please do not PM me for support.

Offline Illori

  • Project Manager
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 50,843
Re: Can the words "Child Boards" be changed...
« Reply #12 on: December 29, 2014, 09:09:47 AM »
yes you should have a backup, but doing the edits that way it may not be aparent what file is being edited for you so you know which file to backup.

it is very important to have a backup, how many people do we see here that forget or do not make backup's?

Offline Arantor

  • Resident Overthinker
  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 71,028
    • StoryBB/StoryBB on GitHub
Re: Can the words "Child Boards" be changed...
« Reply #13 on: December 29, 2014, 09:12:37 AM »
If only there were a way of doing all of this that didn't require file edits, like putting the content into a database and making safe edits to it.
Don’t try to tell me that some power can corrupt a person. You haven’t had enough to know what it’s like.

No good deed goes unpunished / No act of charity goes unresented.

Offline Steve

  • Freak
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 4,488
  • Gender: Male
  • I have not yet begun to procrastinate.
Re: Can the words "Child Boards" be changed...
« Reply #14 on: December 29, 2014, 09:15:58 AM »
yes you should have a backup, but doing the edits that way it may not be aparent what file is being edited for you so you know which file to backup.

it is very important to have a backup, how many people do we see here that forget or do not make backup's?

My question was rhetorical but in any case, it's amazing how often people make infrequent, or worse, no backups.

And not knowing which file to edit is most often the case for some of us. I know how to edit (and have a backup of) them but most times I don't know what file to look for.
Online Manual

Please do not PM me for support.

Offline Illori

  • Project Manager
  • SMF Legend
  • *
  • Posts: 50,843
Re: Can the words "Child Boards" be changed...
« Reply #15 on: December 29, 2014, 09:20:19 AM »
And not knowing which file to edit is most often the case for some of us. I know how to edit (and have a backup of) them but most times I don't know what file to look for.

if you have a local copy of your SMF files, you can use notepad++ or other editors to search your files for certain words. do a search for "Home" in your Themes/default/languages folder and see what you find, or any similar word you see. now you can search and reply any word(s) you want.

Offline Steve

  • Freak
  • Support Specialist
  • SMF Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 4,488
  • Gender: Male
  • I have not yet begun to procrastinate.
Re: Can the words "Child Boards" be changed...
« Reply #16 on: December 29, 2014, 09:23:08 AM »
That's a good idea. I should have thought of that ... getting old sucks ... ;)
Online Manual

Please do not PM me for support.

Offline Debido

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 121
Re: Can the words "Child Boards" be changed...
« Reply #17 on: December 30, 2014, 04:07:30 AM »
Thank you all, I did change it and it was very easy!  ;D

Once I knew how  ;)

Offline Debido

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 121
Re: Can the words "Child Boards" be changed...
« Reply #18 on: December 31, 2014, 01:29:29 AM »
ok i did change the words from child boards to "related boards."

Now the related boards show up normally under the main board name as they do on this SMF board, but my "related boards" aka the child boards all show up above the main board name if you click on the main board, hope i am explaining it right.

In other words i have a board called "Area news" then have related boards under that, but when you click on the "area news" board it shows all the related boards stacked above the main area news board ;D ;D and the area news board is down on the page, does that make sense? something doesnt seem right, please help  :)

Offline Antechinus

  • SMF Friend
  • SMF Super Hero
  • *
  • Posts: 24,265
  • Master of BBC Abuse
Re: Can the words "Child Boards" be changed...
« Reply #19 on: December 31, 2014, 02:18:46 AM »
Yeah that's standard. You can switch it around if you like. I actually made a mod for it. You can install that if you like, or if you want to just nick teh code and modify your template yourself, go for it.

http://custom.simplemachines.org/mods/index.php?mod=3076